Welcome to the Official Website of the National Mathematical Centre.

The National Mathematical Centre, Abuja came into being on January 1, 1988 as an Inter-University Centre for Mathematical Sciences; although the decree (Decree No 40) giving it a legal existence was not promulgated until December 12 1989. ( now National Mathematical Centre Act 2004 CAP. N58).

The Centre began operations at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 1988 but moved to the Federal Capital, Abuja in July 1989 in the spirit of constructive pluralism – a process of enhancing equitable involvement and participation in nation building by all the component parts of Nigeria.

The Centre, which was originally located at Block II, Lukulu Close, Wuse, Zone 3, FCT, Abuja moved to its permanent site at Sheda-Kwali, Kaduna –Lokoja road, Abuja in 2002.